Thursday, August 16, 2012

2011-2012 Spanish La Liga Season Review

It could be argued that not only the Spanish La Liga was dominated by two players and two teams but World football itself, as Barcelona, Lionel Messi and Real Madrid, Cristiano Ronaldo amazed us with their skills and the statistical totals they created. In the league alone Messi scored 50 goals and 16 assists although he lost out on the league title to Real Madrid who were led by Ronaldo 46 goals. Hidden in these shadows were other great performances by Valencia, Malaga and Atletico Madrid, who won the Europa League and led by maybe the third most dynamic player in World Football, Radamel Falcao. Next season this story should continue although with Barcelona manager Josep Guardiola leaving at seasons end it will be interesting to see if Barcelona can keep up with Real Madrid.

Final Standings

Top Individual Player's Statistics for League based on Minutes Played

Other Statistical Leaders
Goals: Messi (Bar) 50, Ronaldo (RM) 46, Falcao (AM) 24, Higuain (RM) 22.
Headed Goals: Llorente (AB) 10, Falcao (AM) 7, Ronaldo (RM) 7, 3 players with 5.
Free Kick Goals: Etxebarria (RB) 4, Santi (Mal) 4, Messi (Bar) 3, 4 playes with 2.
Goals Outside Box: Santi (Mal) 8, Ronaldo (RM) 7, Messi (Bar) 5, Etxebarria (RB) 5.
Assists: Ozil (RM) 18, Messi (Bar) 16, Di Maria (RM) 14, 2 players with 12.
Shots on Target: Messi (Bar) 114, Ronaldo (RM) 113, Falcao (AM) 67, Benzema (RM) 53.
Game Winners: Ronaldo (RM) 17, Messi (Bar) 13, Falcao (AM) 8, Castro (RB) 7.
Fouls Committed: Garcia (Osa) 88, Iriney (RB) 85, Gabi (AM) 84, Diop (Rac) 78.
Yellow Cards: Arribas (RyV) 17, Casado (RyV) 17, Medel (Sev) 16, Paredes (Zar) 16.
Red Cards: Martinez (AB) 3, Lanzaro (Zar) 3, Mario (RB) 3, 14 players with 2.

2011-2012 Top 10 Players based on Statistical Output & Long Term Player Value
 1. Lionel Messi - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-1-lionel-messi.html
 2. Cristiano Ronaldo - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-2-cristiano-ronaldo.html
 3. Radamel Falcao - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-3-radamel-falcao.html
 4. Karim Benzema - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-4-karim-benzema.html
 5. Francesc Fabregas - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-5-francesc-fabregas.html
 6. Mesut Ozil - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-6-mesut-ozil.html
 7. Jose Rondon - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-7-jose-rondon.html
 8. Alexis Sanchez - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-8-alexis-sanchez.html
 9. Gonzalo Higuain - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-9-gonzalo-higuain.html
10. Carlos Vela - http://enbsports.blogspot.ca/2012/07/spanish-la-liga-10-carlos-vela.html

1 comment: